Comedian’s Corner: Karen Sherrard

Who are you?

Woman, comedian, actor, animal-lover, gardener, traveller and drummer.

Describe your humour in three words. 

“Hopefully it’s funny”. Or does that count as 4 words? This is why I can’t cope with Twitter.

Most embarrassing moment on stage?

I once wet myself trying not to laugh performing in a dreadful play about Vikings. It was a theatre in education project in a school, so thankfully many of the audience had also soiled themselves. I also tripped up as I walked on at a comedy night in Builth Wells, launching myself face first onto the stage. It got a laugh, though.

Best compliment you’ve been given from an audience member?

“You should be on telly”. I’m still not on telly.

Worst job you’ve ever had?

I’m lucky that I’ve mostly done interesting jobs that I’ve loved, but when I was still looking for acting work, I had a job wrapping roses in cellophane (the kind that people used to go round selling in restaurants or at traffic lights in the 90’s). I got £12 a day, thorns in my thumbs and a real sense of failure for my troubles.

15822177_10154669392661131_2010300434_n

Favourite Cardiff venue?

The Glee is set up perfectly – no empty seats at the front, you can see the audience and they can see you, great sound, free food and you’re well looked after. All you need to do is perform well. I’m also fond of Drones at Chapter and Fun at the Flute at the Flute and Tankard.

Why do you do comedy? (Oooh philosophical)

Unlike acting, you can get out there and get spots on a comedy bill fairly easily. So I’ve been able to develop my act and build up a profile, make contacts and build an audience on my own terms, without having to wait for someone to cast me in a role. The way a gig works is that you are often performing with acts you have never met before and you are all equally responsible for putting on a good show. There’s no rehearsal, just a lot of respect and a bit of magic. There’s no separation from the audience, you’re seeking an immediate and direct response from them and there has to be a collaboration between all the acts and the audience to make the night work. It’s extremely compelling and without it, I feel pretty empty!

What’s your tipple?

Rum. Havana Club 7 year. A nice ale if I’m in a pub. But if I need to party til dawn, rum it is.

New Year’s Resolution?

I don’t really do resolutions. I often try to get stuff sorted out in September as I think that’s an easier time of year to make changes. However, I want to counteract the Trump / Brexit atmosphere with positivity. I feel really fired up with the challenge of re-uniting people again, getting people together with shared experiences and understanding each other better. And what better way to do this than with comedy?

Where can we watch you be funny?

Come along to Fun at the Flute (Flute and Tankard) on January 19th where I’ll be headlining with my character Eirys Evans. There will be a raffle.

Leave a Reply

